Episode 108 – “The Plague”

You know one thing I’m mildly tired of seeing in various bits of fiction? The “plague doctor” look. You know, the men in bird masks from the Renaissance era. I’m glad we’ve evolved beyond the point of needing stupid-looking masks when there’s plague around and-

p0122x8l
Fuuuuuuuck…

Dodo is feeling better, so that’s a thing, I suppose. I must say she was very quick to get sick and very quick to start recovering. I’ve been sick for the last couple of days and I’m quite jealous. At least now she’s coughing instead of sneezing, so that’s something, I guess.

Meantime, we see the plague ravaging people on the ark. We also get a funeral, and an announcement of what amounts to marshal law. Fun! This progresses to Steven doing some testifying at a hearing. He makes some good points about human development.

It’s interesting as I rewatch this episode that I realize a: I’ve seen it before (as I have the rest of the story), and b: I don’t really remember anything of it. Make of that what you will.

The Doctor is eventually given the right to do research to try and save everyone, with Steven, now sick, as his guinea pig. The Doctor fiddles around a bit, and Steven is cured, as expected.

With that, Team TARDIS says goodbye, and flies away! As they do, I remember that, oh, yes, there is something rather interesting about this story, and we’re about to experience it.

Next time: “The Return”

Leave a Reply

